Antimicrobial Stewardship

Who We Are:
Antimicrobial Stewardship (AS) Committee was created in 2008 as part MSHP initiative on antimicrobial stewardship. AS committee consists of ~ 30 clinical pharmacists representing 22 teaching and non-teaching hospitals in Maryland. Most of the pharmacists in our group have antimicrobial stewardship responsibilities at their institution and some are clinical coordinator/managers. We meet monthly in person or have conference calls to discuss various issues related to antimicrobial stewardship at our institutions.

If you are antimicrobial stewardship pharmacist in Maryland and would like to join our group please contact AS committee co-chairs.

Our goals:

  • Optimize inpatient antimicrobial utilization in all hospitals and long term institutions in Maryland
  • Minimize development and emergence of antimicrobial resistance across the state.
  • Share successful antimicrobial stewardship among hospitals in Maryland and inspire other institutions to start or improve their antimicrobial stewardship programs.
  • Organize educational sessions on antimicrobial stewardship and infectious diseases topics.

Committee Chairs:

Jonathan Ford (Chair) and Clara Ni (Vice-Chair)